Learn Wayne Skinner Award receipients

Published on February 9th, 2016 | from CAMH Education

Wayne Skinner Award Winners Announced!

Wayne Skinner Award for Fostering Growth and Inspiration Through Teaching

We kicked off Monday of Education Achieve Week with a smiling set of award winners and nominees. They were nominated by their peers for teaching and education excellence within CAMH and in the community, and Wayne Skinner gave a keynote presentation to talk about the importance of teaching, learning and care in mental health and addictions.


Carmen Weibe winner Wayne Skinner Award

Carmen Wiebe, MD, FRCPC
Staff psychiatrist in the Borderline Personality Disorder Clinic at CAMH

Dr. Carmen Wiebe works with clients with Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD), teaches Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT). She has been an advocate for clients and new teaching models working with BPD. Here is an excerpt from the nomination, which gave a glowing rendition of Carmen teaching and modeling ‘the patient as teacher:’

“The impact of Dr. Wiebe’s work is even more powerful given that she co-teaches with former clients of the BPD clinic, because significant numbers of health care professionals have deeply stigmatized views of patients with Borderline Personality Disorder.”


Wayne Skinner Team Award reciepients

Motivational Interviewing Faculty Team

The Motivational Interviewing team: Tim Godden, Brian Slegers, Alexandra Andric, Peter Selby, Carolynne Cooper, Stephanie Cohen, Rosa Dragonetti, Anu Goodman, Natalie Quick, Julie Henderson, Kam Balchand, Sandra Cushing, Evelyn Neilas, Yarissa Herman, Wayne Skinner

Motivational Interviewing (MI) is used in training of residents, current clinicians in and outside of CAMH. The first motivational interviewing clinic was started in 2013, and has grown over the last two years.

The team’s work has shifted the concept of ’motivation for change’ toward a view that empowers clinicians to elicit change talk from the patient’s perspective and needs. As a result of the MI team at CAMH, motivational interviewing is now used in across the hospital in a wide variety of programs and services.

To all the nominees, congrats!

Wayne Skinner Award nominees

There were many great entries this year, thank you for all the work you do to inspire students and fostering growth. Here are the finalists for both categories:


Rosa Dragonetti: Project Director, Addictions Education and Research

Daniel Blumberger: Medical Head, Temerty Centre for Therapeutic Brain Intervention


Education and Community Resources, Problem Gambling Institute of Ontario

Robert Murray, Stephen Meredith, BinhTam Le, Gurpal Bubbra, Janine Robinson, Beth Murray, Colleen Tessier, Lianne McKay, Matt Donnelly, Shawn Yu, Tazyia Lakkotrypis, Sylvia Hagopian

Problem Gambling, Gaming and Internet Use Education Team, Problem Gambling Institute of Ontario

Bruce Ballon, Lisa Pont, Colleen Tessier, Janis Wolfe, Doriann Shapiro, Kathryn Weiser, Stephen Meredith, Beth Murray, Sylvia Hagopian

Team CAT

Joy-Ann Perry, Raquel Williams, Cecilia Manicatide


Tags: , , ,

Posted by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑